Wrapping up the week

Eeek! It’s already 8:20pm on Thursday night & I still have so much to do (I’m still at work, actually)! Because I’ve been so frantic about how much work that’s left to do, I’ve actually been powering through a lot of things & have gotten tons done (whew)!

I’ve finished administering security passwords and provisions to the four different accounts I’ve created. I’ve also mentioned (for the umpteenth time) that a back-up hard drive would make me feel a lot more secure with the work I’ve done. Thanks to Scott’s software recommendations, I was able to stow away security information in a few places (just in case), and send copies of everything to a new email I established for MNA – specifically for archives & library purposes (which I think will be really handy someday).Yesterday and today I spent most of my time formatting and editing the guides I wrote in English (one for help with research and the various symbols necessary to craft a good search with FMP; the other for data entry/deletion, interface design/database management, and security). I’ve already translated the former into Spanish, and have had two MNA employees revise it. So I feel okay about it’s current condition.

The other guide, however, is much longer, and much more complex. I hope to work on translating that one tomorrow, and will hopefully be able to finish most of it, but it’s going to be extremely difficult. Anything I don’t complete, I plan to work on from home on Monday (when the museum is closed)- because both Tuesday & my half day Wednesday need to be devoted to teaching everything to Oscar. He hasn’t had time this week to spend one-on-one with me because our Chief Administrator is on vacation this entire week: the entire administrative staff has had to take on more than just their own job to make up for her absence.

It’s crazy that I’m only here for another 6 days! This weekend my roommates and I are finally going to Salar de Uyuni! We leave tomorrow around 7pm, and will arrive around 6am on Saturday morning. We’re spending 2 full days on the salt flats, and will be back home Monday morning :)

I’ll spend next Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday working as fast and efficiently as possible, and then around lunchtime on Wednesday, I’m all done at MNA! I’m gonna head home to do a last load of laundry, and pack up! From 6-9pm the Embassy is holding a goodbye dinner for Carys, Jimmy, and myself – the last remaining U.S. interns in Bolivia. So we’re going to the cliché American restaurant ‘Factory’ in the Zona Sur’s MegaCenter to enjoy some dinner & mingle before saying our final goodbyes. I’ll leave for the airport around 3:30 a.m., and be home around midnight next Thursday!

It’s really weird to think about being back in Michigan because I’ve become so acclimated to the culture here in Bolivia, but do I miss everybody a lot. I’m a little sad to leave the museum, but will be forever grateful for the experience & opportunity they afforded me!

Will update once more next week. I look forward to seeing everybody back home & thank all who faithfully followed my adventures on the blogosphere over the past few months (can’t wait to hear all of your summer stories in person really soon!)

xoxo!

kindly leave a comment below! :

